Public School Choice


                                                School Choice Application – Form Deadline is May 1

School Choice Act of 2015

This is a public announcement. Public school choice in Arkansas allows students to attend a public school in a district other than the one in which they reside. Parents of students who want to enroll their children in one of the following public schools; Blevins, Fouke, Genoa, Nevada, Prescott and Spring Hill have until May 1 to apply to enroll in the fall under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act 560 of 2015.

Pursuant to standards adopted by a non-resident school board, a nonresident district may reserve the right to accept and reject applicants based on capacity of programs, class, grade level, or school building. Likewise, a non-resident district’s standards may provide for the rejection of an applicant based upon the submission of false or misleading information to the above listed request for information when that information directly impacts the legal qualifications of an applicant to transfer pursuant to the School Choice Act. However, a non-resident district’s standards shall not include an applicant’s previous academic achievement, athletic or other extracurricular ability, handicapping conditions, English proficiency level, or previous disciplinary proceedings, except that an expulsion from another district may be included pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §6-18-1901. Priority will be given to applicants with siblings attending the district. The non-resident district shall accept credits toward graduation that were awarded by another district and award a diploma to a nonresident applicant if the applicant meets the non-resident district’s graduation requirements.

Applications must be postmarked or delivered to the Superintendent of the Non Resident district no later than May 1 for a child to be able to enroll for the fall semester. Transfers shall be granted on a non-discriminatory basis. Students who have been accepted and enrolled in previous years do not have to reapply, as approved transfers remain valid for as long as the student attends that public school.  The Superintendent of the Non Resident District will contact the Resident District regarding the application.

The following school districts comply with this public school announcement: Blevins, Fouke, Genoa, Nevada, Prescott and Spring Hill.  Go to for more information on the Arkansas Public School Choice Act 560 of 2015.